The First Reporter. Books #5

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to be a journalist. Listening to people’s stories, telling them. Through the year, while thinking about what it meant to be a journalist and what I precisely wanted to do in that field, I discovered inside me a real passion for the job of reporter. I just love knowing what is happening in other countries, trying to understand why it is happening, and most of all, trying to discover what it is like for the people.

So when I found this book in my Mom’s library, I was so happy! It is written by a famous reporter, Ryszard Kapuscinski. He was born in 1932 in Poland. On his first trip as a reporter, he found this book, written by Herodotus. The latter is often considered as the first great reporter. He was the first to travel the world and to relate what he saw. Through the entire book, the author uses quotes from Herodotus’ book, and looks at the method used by the one he considers as his “model”. He talks about curiosity, meeting people in their homes and their real life, how you have to listen to them, share their lives in order to be able to transcribe and narrate it. He also talks about how you have to be careful with your assertions, which is at the centre of journalism.

It definitely is a book that will stay for a very long time on my nightstand, along Marcus Aurelius and Saint-ExupĂ©ry…

Have a wonderful weekend,
xx
Ines

Leave a comment