Books #4

I have been back in France for two month-ish and haven’t really found the inspiration to take pictures, but I am slowly coming back to it! So while I wasn’t shooting, I have been reading a lot. Here is a list of three books I have been reading since June.

  1. After You, by Jojo Moyes, is the sequel of the famous book and movie “Me Before You”. It is a love story, set in London, which was super funny to read as I was missing a lot the UK at the time. The beginning of the book is quite hard to get into, but after a few more chapters I couldn’t drop the book! If you haven’t seen the movie, I really recommend it.
  2. The Darling, by Russel Banks, is the story of Hannah Musgrave, a radical activist and member of the Weather Underground. After the Anti-war movements of the seventies in the United States, she flees to West Africa, where she starts a new life in Liberia. But in the 1990s, the country is unstable politically and she faces terrible events. This book was very interesting to read, and I learned a lot about this part of the African history.
  3. Parrot and Olivier in America, by Peter Carey, won the Booker Prize twice. It follows the journey of a French noble and his servant, an Englishman called Parrot, to America. Master and servant become friends despite the odds. This book is an amazing portrait of this time, both of France, England and later in the book of the New World.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend,
xx
Ines

Leave a comment