A day in Perth

How to start this lovely (and exciting) month better than by visiting the lovely city of Perth? On May, 2, early in the morning, I got my bag, my camera and my “what to see” list, and I headed off to the Bus Station, near Andrew Square. There, I hopped on a Bus and started the journey towards Perth, in central Scotland. We crossed the Queensferry Crossing, and then continued across the countryside, until we made it to Perth Park and Ride. There, I took a bus for the city centre, and started to explore the city.

Perth is on the bank of the river Tay. It is a small town, which economic was held for a long time by the wiskey industry. Now that this industry declined, it’s economy has diversified.

There are a few museums to visit: the Black Watch Museum (which costs £8 if you’re an adult), but also the Art Museum an Gallery, which is on free admission. The banks of the river Tay are very lovely for a walk, sadly I did it under the rain (but to be honest after 9 months in Scotland, I don’t even notice it anymore haha). There is also the Cathedral, newly restored, where I met two lovely guides / volunteers. There is also a huge shopping centre haha. You can even spots some scultpures on the streets..

The highlight of this trip was at the bus station, on my way back home. I was in advance and it was pouring rain and freezing cold, so the guy in charge of the station made sure I hopped on the earlier bus to Edinburgh, which was a Citylink Gold. He was so nice, I am still amazed by the kindness of the Scots haha!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend,

xx
Ines

Leave a comment